Permits can be rejected or rejected & closed BEFORE they have been issued, as follows:
- The permit is created and saved by a ‘Creator’ user. During this step, all permit details, such as details of the job, work area, contractor company are filled in, method statements/risk assessments attached. The user also selects the special permits to include (e.g. Hot Work, Working at Height), and answers the relevant questions.
- The permit is then validated. This can be done by the Permit Creator, if the creator has ‘validate’ user rights. Otherwise, the Permit Creator submits the permit for validation by a ‘Validator’, who validates it before it is ready for the next step.
- The Permit Validator now has three options:
- Issue, as already described
The permit is rejected back to the permit creator, along with a reason for the rejection (e.g. more details are required). The rejected permit then goes back to the ‘created’ stage. It can be edited by the creator and re-submitted for validation.
- Reject & Close:
The permit is rejected and closed out.
- Next, the permit is issued by a ‘Permit Issuer’, who decides on the permit start date and duration of the permit. This step may include signatures by the Permit Issuer and contractor personnel.
- Once the job is complete, the permit is handed back for close by an authorised user. This user includes details of the job done, whether the job is complete.
- If the job is complete, it is closed. If the job is not complete but the existing permit is nearing the end of its validity period, the permit can be closed & a new permit created.
- The new permit now goes through the same workflow as described above.